Sandu welcomed the decision of the Swiss authorities to impose sanctions against oligarchs from Moldova

Moldovan President Maia Sandu expressed her gratitude to the Swiss authorities, who announced the imposition of sanctions against five citizens of the Republic of Moldova for their attempts to destabilize our country. The sanctions list includes Marina Tauber, Ilan Shor, Vladimir Plahotniuc, Igor Chaika, and Georgy Kavkalyuk.

“I welcome the decision of Swiss authorities to join the EU in imposing targeted sanctions on those undermining Moldova’s sovereignty. We appreciate Switzerland’s solidarity & its support for our stability & security. Together, we stand against attempts to destabilize our country,” Maia Sandu said.

According to members of the Federal Council, internal groups and Russia are engaged in activities to destabilize Moldova, and the developed sanctions are a reaction to the increasing attacks on democracy, the rule of law, stability, and security of the Republic of Moldova.

On Wednesday, June 28, the Swiss Federal Council announced sanctions against five people suspected of trying to destabilize Moldova. The measures introduced include financial and travel restrictions. Their assets will be frozen, and economic resources will be unable to “transit” through Switzerland.

Similar Articles


Most Popular