Moldova has ended its presidency in BSEC. See who is next!

The Republic of Moldova ended its current presidency in the Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization (BSEC), and it was passed to Serbia.

The Minister of Foreign Affairs and European Integration, Nicu Popescu, together with the Secretary of State Vladimir Cuc, presided over the 45th Council of Ministers of Foreign Affairs of the member states of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization, where his tenure ended of our country.

During the ministerial meeting, Popescu said that our country, as a founding state of the BSEC, within the presidency-in-exercise, pursued the objective of promoting cooperation in the fields related to the sustainable economic development of the region.

“We firmly believe that respecting the principles of international law such as sovereignty, territorial integrity and the inviolability of borders is the key element in ensuring trusting relations between states. Russia’s war of aggression against Ukraine has significantly affected the functioning of the Organization and joint efforts to promote prosperity and economic growth in the region. During the ministerial meeting, most of the BSEC member states expressed thanks to the Republic of Moldova for managing the Organization during this complicated period. There was an extensive exchange of opinions regarding the situation in the region and the priorities on the organization’s agenda,” Popescu’s announcement states.

During the same meeting, the organization’s budget for 2023 and some decisions necessary for the operation of this regional structure were approved.


We specify that, on April 30, 1999, at the meeting of foreign ministers from the BSEC states in Tbilisi, the Black Sea Economic Cooperation Organization (BSEC Organization) was established, which became a regional cooperation structure in the economic field.

The founders of the BSEC Organization are eleven states: five Balkan countries (Albania, Bulgaria, Greece, Romania, Turkey, and three riparian countries: the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation, Ukraine, and three Caucasian countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Georgia.

Similar Articles


Most Popular