The Republic of Moldova hosts Nord-Baltic 8’s Presidents of Parliaments

The Speakers of the eight Baltic and Nordic States – “North-Baltic 8” (NB8) are paying a joint official visit to Moldova (August 31st – June 1st), organized at the initiative of Igor Grosu, the President of the Parliament of the Republic of Moldova.

Thus, the Parliament of the Republic of Moldova hosts today, May 31st, the meeting of the Speakers of Parliament from Lithuania, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Norway and Sweden. After talks with the President of the Parliament, Igor Grosu, the eight delegations had meetings with the Presidents of the parliamentary factions, which will end with a joint press conference.

During the press conference, the eight Presidents of the Parliaments of the Baltic and Nordic States (NB8) expressed their support for the Republic of Moldova in the EU accession process, including in the context of the application. The officials also reiterated their support for the territorial integrity and sovereignty of our country, and a special issue was Moldova’s solidarity in the context of the refugee crisis caused by the war in Ukraine.

For more convenience and diversity, follow us on Facebook!

The agenda of the visit to the Republic of Moldova of the Presidents of the Parliament within NB8 also includes a meeting with the Prime Minister Natalia Gavrilița, as well as discussions with the representatives of the civil society. The dignitaries will also visit the Temporary Refugee Placement Center at the Moldexpo International Exhibition Center.

“North Baltic 8” (NB8) is a regional cooperation format, bringing together eight states: Lithuania, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Norway and Sweden. The forum’s area of competence includes current regional and international issues.

Similar Articles


Most Popular