Three deputies from Moldova participate in the winter session of PACE

The Parliament of the Republic of Moldova announces that the report on the honoring of obligations and commitments by Moldova as a member country of the Council of Europe will be presented during the winter session of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE).

The meeting will take place in Strasbourg, between January 23-27, 2023. Our country’s delegation includes deputies Ion Groza, the head of the national delegation to APCE, Mihail Popșoi, the vice-president of the Parliament, and Natalia Davidovici.

“The report on the honoring of obligations and commitments by the Republic of Moldova was prepared by the co-rapporteurs Pierre-Alain Fridez, Switzerland, and Inese Lībiņa-Egnere, Latvia, within the Committee for honoring the obligations and commitments of the member states of the Council of Europe (Monitoring Committee). The members of the national delegation, Ion Groza and Mihail Popșoi will take part in the debates on this document”, announced the officials from the Parliament.

The agenda of the PACE winter session also includes the urgent debate on the legal and human rights aspects of the aggression of the Russian Federation against Ukraine.

“The recent tensions between Pristina and Belgrade will also be discussed. PACE will also discuss the environmental impact of armed conflict, as well as the ethical, cultural, and educational challenges of contact tracing applications. The construction of the open academic networks of the Council of Europe (OCEAN) will also be examined,” the statement added.


Another current topic, included on the agenda of the session, is conflict-related sexual violence. Deputy Natalia Davidovici will have an intervention in this context.

“The parliamentarian will refer to the Istanbul Convention, the role and responsibility of men and boys in stopping gender-based violence against women and girls, identifying solutions for marital captivity,” states the legislature.

During the winter session, the new President of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe, as well as the APCE vice-presidents, will be elected. Among the officials invited to address the MEPs in the plenary are the Prime Minister of Iceland, Katrin Jakobsdottir, and the Foreign Minister of Germany, Annalena Baerbock.

Similar Articles


Most Popular