UNDP will support the Moldovan Government in implementing key reforms on the path to EU accession

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) will support the Government of the Republic of Moldova in implementing key reforms in the areas of public administration, energy, and digital transformation. A recently announced UNDP project worth one million dollars will provide expertise to the Republic of Moldova in essential domains, given its status as a candidate country for EU accession and in the context of multidimensional crises, as reported by Moldpres.

“PNUD supports key reforms that will benefit all individuals in the Republic of Moldova, while also contributing to the strengthening of resilience to crises and the acceleration of achieving Sustainable Development Goals,” stated Daniela Gasparikova, UNDP Resident Representative in the Republic of Moldova.

UNDP will assist in fortifying the Government’s capacity for anticipatory risk-based decision-making and evidence-based policy development. UNDP will further support the implementation of the Republic of Moldova’s Public Administration Reform Strategy for the years 2023-2030, recently approved, which aims to enhance the capacities of local authorities to provide essential services, including in crisis situations.


The organization will aid the Government in developing a framework for testing and experimenting with new energy technologies and innovations, aimed at enhancing energy security and promoting a fair energy transition. Additionally, UNDP continues to support the Republic of Moldova’s vision for digital transformation. A national digital literacy program for women and girls will be supported, contributing to their capacity to utilize digital public services.

The project “Strengthening Resilient Development in Moldova through Crisis Anticipation, Prevention, and Inclusive Recovery,” to be conducted during the period 2023-2024, is funded through the UNDP Fund for Governance, Peacebuilding, Crisis, and Resilience, with contributions from Denmark, Luxembourg, South Korea, and Sweden.

Similar Articles


Most Popular