(VIDEO) Gherasimov on the 20th anniversary of the EU’s greatest enlargement: the next anniversary with Moldova as a member state

Twenty years after the highest wave of EU enlargement, Moldova’s Deputy Prime Minister for European Integration Cristina Gherasimov congratulated the member states that joined the community in 2004. She said they had strengthened their economy and democracy.

“The enlargement of 1 May 2004 is also important for us in the Republic of Moldova because of the model of unity that the ten countries have shown, and we have understood that the European dream is possible. Happy birthday! – and may we celebrate the next anniversary together, with Moldova as an EU member state,” Gherasimov said.


On 1 May 2004, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia joined the EU, and in 2007 they were joined by Romania, Bulgaria and Croatia.

On average, 79% of citizens of the countries that joined the EU in 2004 consider that their country has benefited from European opportunities. At the same time, 70% of the 15 EU Member States citizens in 2004 believed that accession benefited the community.

Similar Articles


Most Popular